Can I add or remove students from my class?
You can add students at any time. Use your finger to slide out the Main menu (look for the ‘Open Menu’ tab on the left side of the screen) and select ‘Setup’ > ‘Manage Students’. Then, tap the ‘Add Student’ bubble and add away!
Deleting a student is more complicated as this also deletes all current records of the student – we could therefore advise caution in using this function. A student can be removed in ‘Setup’ > ‘Manage Students’ by tapping the ‘x’ symbol next to the student’s bubble. This will bring up a warning message requesting confirmation to delete all records as well.
Can I only assess one student at a time?
You can assess one student or select multiple students for assessment at the same time by adding them (tapping) to the first selection and then tapping ‘Assess’. You can also assess all members of a group simultaneously by tapping on the group name and all students in that group will be highlighted for assessment. You can also do individuals in a group. Remember to select the assessment before you select students for assessment!
What happens to an Assessment if I don’t complete it in the week that it is scheduled?
An assessment will remain ‘open’ until you finalise it by tapping ‘Complete Assessment’. You may return to an ‘open’ assessment at any time by scrolling back to the week in which the assessment was scheduled.
REMINDER: Grades are only added to the reports once you finalise the assessment by tapping ‘Complete Assessment’.
What information can I record in the assessment?
You can select a grade, add comments, record (using device camera) or add (from Photos) images of work. A student may also be ‘flagged’ to remind a teacher of an incomplete assessment or additional information or action that might be required. Flags will be visible on the Assessment Dashboard and may be cancelled by opening up the assessment window/pop up.
Once an assessment has been ‘Completed’ can I still change it later on?
A ‘completed’ assessment will be greyed out in the ‘My Assessments’ window and can be viewed but NOT altered.
Can I ‘complete’ an assessment without adding grades for all students (some are absent)?
Yes, you can. However, you will be reminded that some students have not been assessed before you finally complete the assessment.
Can I add or remove students from my class?
Each checklist will require a name and can be scheduled to occur daily, weekly, every fortnight or month on a specific day (where applicable). Like an assessment, a checklist remains open until it has been completed. Non-repeating ‘open’ checklists will be moved from one week to the next until they have been completed. Checklists expire at the end of each term.
How can I view past completed checklists?
You may return to a ‘completed’ checklist at any time by scrolling back to the week in which the checklist was scheduled.
Why do the grades for some of my assessments not appear in the reports?
Grades are only added to the reports once you finalise the assessment by tapping “Complete Assessment”.
Can I view grades by groups?
No, grades (or any other info) assigned in a group will be reported against the individual student.
How is the average grade determined?
Each alphabetical grade is assigned a value and the average is derived by dividing the total score across all the recorded assessments. If the average grade contains a fraction the grade is represented by letters separated by a dash i.e. A/B represents a grade between 5 and 4 (A = 5, B = 4). Detailed grades can be viewed if required to make a final decision.
How do I see the detail grades for each subject/assessment?
Tapping on the subject (report by student) or student (view by subject) reveals the detail score of each outcome.
Can I see the comments or photos that were part of the assessment?
If a comment or an image was recorded during an assessment, an icon would appear on the detail report on the line with the specific outcome. Tapping on the outcome will show the assessment window with the comment and/or image.
What is a CSV file and how do I open it?
The .csv (comma separated values) file can be emailed or uploaded to your Google Drive account. This file can be imported into any spreadsheet program like Numbers © or Microsoft Excel © for use.
Where can I set my profile picture?
Your profile picture can be uploaded or changed under ‘Manage’ in the Main Menu (‘Open Menu’)
Can I update my personal information?
Your personal information can be updated or changed under ‘Manage’ in the Main Menu (‘Open Menu’)
How do I backup or save my information?
It is very important that you download your information from time to time. You can save information by sending reports to your email or Google Drive account in the ‘Manage’ section of the app. While all the information is held securely on AWS cloud, it is your responsibility to keep/make a copy of the assessment records before your subscription ends.